Little Red Riding Hood Cape

This little red riding hood cape is based on the free sewing pattern by Fleece Fun.  I didn’t have red fleece.  I had red wool crepe.  So that’s what I used.

The hood is lined with cotton broadcloth. Pressing it over a ham was a bit tricky. The hood is very full and the crepe likes to spring up. I topstitched around the hood after, to keep the lining from sliding around inside the hood. I also tacked the two together at the apex.

Red Riding Hood Cape Pressing Over Ham

I added a locker loop, so that the cape won’t spend as much time on the floor.

Red Riding Hood Cape Locker Loop

And here is red riding hood. I am temporarily very popular.

Red Riding Hood Cape Finished

The pattern was easy to download and follow. It is only three pieces. I adjusted the hood to be slightly shorter than drawn because I was about two inches short of having enough fabric for the longest pattern variation.  It still turned out to be a very full hood.  In fact, the pattern is of such a relaxed fit, that an adult could probably wear this cape.

I laid the pattern out so that the front edges of the cape would be on the selvedge edge.  I didn’t need to serge the edges to keep them from fraying.  The bottom of the cape is machine stitched, to prevent my little one from ripping it out.

One thought on “Little Red Riding Hood Cape

  1. Pingback: Frozen Costume | christine at home

Leave a Reply

