Sweater to Skirts Refashion

Yet another sweater of mine that ended up in the dryer, and needed a refashion.  I love the aqua color, so I couldn’t let it go to the donation pile.

Refashion one, body of the sweater becomes a skirt.

Sweater Refashion Sewing Ideas-001

Even though Jen, at Diary of a MadMama warned me off about pinning on the right side of the skirt… I forgot and had to move the pins anyway.

Sweater becomes a skirt

My smaller helper insisted on being in the picture, and wearing the collar of the sweater, which has not yet been assigned to a refashion.

Refashion two, sleeves become skirts for an American Girl doll.  (Only one shown.)

American Girl Doll with Sweater Sleeves

The shirt Jess (American Girl Doll) is wearing, is from a Scientific Seamstress pattern.

American Girl Doll in Sweater Skirt

My helper wanted to pose with the doll. This one is actually my doll. I bought it for me, even though I am all grown up, because I have never before seen a doll who resembles me in the slightest. So I just had to have it!

child with American Girl Doll wearing sweater skirt

5 thoughts on “Sweater to Skirts Refashion

  1. diaryofamadmama

    How cute! I’ll bet your daughter is glad that the sweater got shrunk! She’s so slender, it looks like you could’ve gotten two skirts out of the body of the sweater! Isn’t refashioning fun? Thanks for the pingback, I’m glad I got to see it! 🙂
    ~Jen

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Bitty Baby Dress | christine at home

  3. Pingback: American Girl Doll Nightgown | christine at home

Leave a Reply

